The Art of Transcription II (2010, ABCD 305)

The central work on this disc is Liszt’s transcription of Beethoven’s fifth symphony. The other program includes pianistic fireworks in Saint-Saëns–Liszt–Horowitz Danse Macabre, Alexander Siloti’s lyrical arrangement of Bach’s Air, and Earl Wild’s nostalgic version of Rachmaninoff’s Vocalise. Disc also includes the first recording of Sebastian Fagerlund’s stunning “Licht im Licht”, a work based on the Haydn Variations for orchestra by Johannes Brahms.


International Piano, 1–2/2013

“The very characteristic orchestral sonority of Wagner’s music has been a challenge for piano transcribers over the years. Here is a fascinating set of transcriptions played by a Finnish pianist that starts off with a transcription by a fellow Finn. Jukka Nykänen (born 1976) takes Liszt as his starting point,…

Read more





Camille Saint-Saëns (1835–1921) – Franz Liszt (1811–1886) – Vladimir Horowitz (1904–1989):

1 Danse macabre [8:21]

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) – Alexander Siloti (1863–1945):

2 Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D Major: Air BWV 1068 [6:05]

Sergei Rachmaninov (1870–1943) – Earl Wild (1915-2010):

3 Vocalise, Op. 38 Nro 4 [6:34]

Sebastian Fagerlund (b. 1972):

4 Licht im Licht (2007) (Fantasia nach J. Brahms: Variationen
über ein Thema von Haydn) [8’30]

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770–1827) – Franz Liszt:

Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67 [33:34]

5 I Allegro con brio [7:31]
6 II Andante con moto [10:54]
7 III Scherzo: Allegro [5:41]
8 IV Allegro [9:28]

Total 63:25